Charley Pride Special On CMT

SHARE

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

Charley Pride, who broke racial barriers in country music, is to be honored by the upcoming CMT television special, ‘CMT Remembers Charley Pride’.

Rest In Love Mr. Pride

Pride, 86, passed away on December 12th due to complications from COVID-19. Last month, he gave his final performance at the 54th annual CMA Awards, joined by fellow country musician Jimmie Allen. The pair sang a heartfelt rendition of Pride’s 1971 smash hit, ‘Kiss An Angel Good Mornin”. After the duet, the ‘Best Shot’ singer presented Pride with the CMA’s Lifetime Achievement award.

As have many of his peers in country music, Allen released a statement in honor of his friend and hero.

Country Music Superstar: Charley Pride

Pride maintained a career of astounding success. Spanning five decades, he released thirty number-one hits, became RCA Records’ best-selling artist since Elvis Presley, and won four GRAMMY® awards. Moreover, he earned a membership to the Grand Ole Opry and joined the ranks of the icons in the Country Music Hall of Fame. In other words, he was the first black country music superstar. Consequently, Pride is often cited as a major inspiration for the genre’s black artists.

CMT’s half-hour special recounts Prides’ early Mississippi days up to his meteoritic ascent to fame in the midst of the Civil Rights Movement. It contains thirty years’ worth of interviews, commentary, and archival footage. Also in the special are appearances by Pride’s wife Rozene, son Dion, sister Maxine, and brother Joe. As for celebrity appearances, the line-up includes Darius Rucker, Loretta Lynn, Merle Haggard, Tim McGraw, Shania Twain, among others.

‘CMT Remembers Charley Pride’ will premiere on Wednesday, December 16th at 8 PM ET / 7 PM CT and will be shown again Thursday, December 17th (9 AM ET / 8 AM CT) and Saturday, December 19th (12 PM ET/11 AM CT).

SHARE THIS POST WITH YOUR FRIENDS
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

new Music Alerts

Don't miss out on the week's latest news, feature artists and new music drops. Join for Music Daily weekly Rewind.